Four women, who call themselves the “Broad Scholars” and who explore various locations in Rhode Island and nearby Massachusetts, joined Sowams Heritage Area Coordinator Dave Weed to explore some 17th century locations, including King’s Rock, in Swansea. The rock was known historically as the “National Grinding Stone” where indigenous women would grind their corn by rolling a rock across a groove in the top of the rock. From King’s Rock they could look across Route 136 south of Johnson’s Market in Swansea at an indigenous ceremonial rock that sits atop a granite ledge known historically as Sachem’s Knoll. They note that the glacial erratic rock was clearly placed there by humans as it it propped up by smaller stones placed under the rock. The women then climbed Abram’s Rock behind the Swansea Town Hall, a location with an historic tie to Metacomet or King Philip who occupied the area in the latter half of the 17th century. Finally, they looked at the Quequechan River where it emerges briefly behind a mill near downtown Fall River and exits under the Braga Bridge. The area was part of Queen Weetamoo‘s territory prior to the King Philip War in 1675-76. Click here for a nine-minute video of their tour.